Skip to main content
Preview the Course
Grade 6-8

Ecosystem Dynamics: Ecological Succession

by Max S. | Science

Learning Standards: MS.LS2.5 MS.LS2.5;
3 Lessons 9:14
  1. 1. Primary Succession 3:39
  2. 2. Secondary Succession 2:26
  3. 3. Renewal and Replenishment 3:09

Grade 6-8


NGSS Standards

About the course

"How does nature recover from natural disasters? Well luckily, an ecosystem evolves and changes over time. Learn about the different stages of ecological succession, how it never stops, and the role humankind plays in its development.

Break down the key elements of an ecosystem and look deeper into how these features interact and evolve over time."


Climax Community

Course overview


Primary Succession

Students will learn how bare rock can eventually become a thriving ecosystem.


Secondary Succession

Students will learn how ecosystems recover from being disturbed.


Renewal and Replenishment

Students will learn the concept of a climax community and the importance of continued change.

See more


  • Climate Change
  • Climax Community
  • Ecological Succession
  • Ecosystem
  • Natural disasters


Max is a physics enthusiast and rising senior at Rutgers University. Academically, he is most intrigued by the intuitive and approachable nature of forces and mechanics. Outside of physics, Max likes to stay active and follow sports.

See full profile